The Arkle Challenge Trophy

The Arkle Challenge Trophy is a Grade 1 National Hunt Steeplechase named after the great Arkle, who won the Cheltenham Gold Cup 3 times. It is run on the Old Course at Cheltenham and the runners have to jump thirteen fences. The race is for novice chasers, it is the second race of the Cheltenham festival and the first race over fences.

It is the leading minimum-distance chase for novices in the National Hunt calendar. Some big names have won the Arkle in previous years such as Douvan, Sprinter Sacre, Moscow Flyer and many more.



The Arkle Challenge Trophy Profile

Type: Grade 1 Steeplechase Race

Distance: 2m (3,219m)

Age: 5 year olds +

Weight: 11st 4lb

Allowances: 7lb for mares.

Prize Fund: £175,000