The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup is the pinnacle of National Hunt racing – it is quite simply the race that every owner, trainer and jockey wants to win.

It is a Grade 1 race run on the New Course  and is a huge stamina test with runners having to jump 22 fences during the 3m2½f trip. It is for five year olds +.

The Cheltenham Gold Cup has been won by some of the the finest race courses to ever grace turf. Names including Arkle, Best Mate and Kauto Star are among previous winners .

The most successful horse in Cheltenham Gold Cup history is Golden Miller who won the race five times from 1932 to 1936. 

3.30 The Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup (ITV/RTV)

Type: Grade 1 Steeplechase Race

Distance: 3m2½f  

Age: 5 year olds +

Weight: 11st 8lb (5 yo’s) 11st 10lb (6 yo +)

Allowances: 7lb for mares

Prize Fund: £625,000

2010-1019 Quick Read Stats

Friday 13 March

Cheltenham (New Course) 3.30: Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase (Grade 1) (5yo+) 3m2½f (ITV)


  • Nicky Henderson has trained the winner twice in the last 10 years
  • The other eight runnings went to different trainers, including Willie Mullins who has had five placed runners


  • 8yo winners: 4
  • 9yo: 3
  • 7yo: 2
  • 6yo: 1

Official Rating

  • Nine winners had a rating of 164 or higher


  • Three favourites have won in the last 10 years
  • Two non-favourite winners returned double-digit prices of 12/1 and 20/1

Form Pointers

  • All winners had won a Grade 1 race
  • All winners had previously run at Cheltenham, of which four had won
  • Nine winners had won over three miles or further
  • Nine winners had raced at least five times over fences
  • Eight winners won their previous race
  • Seven winners had a 50% or better strike rate over fences
  • Only two winners had failed to win a race in the same season

Racing Hub Verdict

1 Al Boum Photo, 2 Delta Work, 3 Lostintranslation