Neptune Novices Hurdle

The Neptune Novices Hurdle is a Grade 1 National Hunt hurdle race which can be entered by horses aged 4 or older. The race is run on the Old Course at Cheltenham and runners have 10 hurdles to jump throughout the race. Only novice hurdlers can enter the race and it is always the first race on Ladies Day (Day 2).

The Neptune Novices Hurdle looks a very competitive race with a few market leaders who look in very good form. There have been some excellent winners in recent years including Faugheen who went on to win the Champion Hurdle as well.

Neptune Novices’ Hurdle Profile

Type: Grade 1 Hurdle Race

Distance: 2m 5f (4,225m)

Age: 4 year olds +

Weight: 10st 13lb (4yo)  11st 7lb (5yo+)

Allowances: 7lb for fillies & mares.

Prize Fund: £125,000