Sun Racing Stayers’ Hurdle

The Sun Racing Stayers’ Hurdle is a Grade 1 National Hunt hurdle race which was formally known as the ‘World Hurdle’. The race is run on the New Course and can be entered by horses aged 4 and over. The runners in the Stayers Hurdle must jump twelve hurdles during the 3 mile race.

The race is the leading long distance hurdle race in the National Hunt calendar and has been won by some excellent horses over the years. Thistlecrack won the 2016 renewal.

Big Buck’s is one of the most successful horses in recent years having won the event four times between 2009 and 2012.

3.30 Sun Racing Stayers Hurdle (ITV/RTV)

Type: Grade 1 Hurdle Race

Distance: 3m 

Age: 4 year olds +

Weight: 11st 0lb (4 yo) 11st 10lb (5yo+)

Allowances: 7lb for fillies & mares

Prize Fund: £325,000

2009-2018 Stats


  • Paul Nicholls won this four times 2009-12
  • Willie Mullins has won the last two runnings


  • The last ten races have been won by horses aged 6 to 9
  • No horse younger than six has ever won


  • Four favourites have won in the last ten years, all other winners have returned prices between 6/1 and 14/1

Festival appearances:

  • Eight winners had previous Festival appearances

Form pointers:

  • Seven winners had won their previous race
  • Six winners had won over course and distance

Racing Hub Shortlist

1 Paisley Park, 2 Faugheen, 3 Black Op